HBC Participants

HBC has investigators in the behavioral, biological, chemical, engineering, physical and pharmaceutical sciences. Below is a current list of all HBC investigators.
NameDesignationContact Info
Brian D. AckleyPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesbdackley@ku.edu
Kenneth AudusPh.D.  Former Dean, School of Pharmacy, Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistryaudus@ku.edu
Mizuki AzumaPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesazumam@ku.edu
Yoshiaki AzumaPh.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesazumay@ku.edu
Cory BerklandPh.D.  Solon E. Summerfield Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical & Petroleum Engineering and Pharmaceutical Chemistryberkland@ku.edu
Cindy L. BerriePh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistrycberrie@ku.edu
Gustavo BlancoPh.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, KUMCgblanco@kumc.edu
Steven BloomPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistryspbloom@ku.edu
Justin P. BlumenstielPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biologyjblumens@ku.edu
Zarko BoskovicPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistryzarko@ku.edu
Kristin Bowman-JamesPh.D.  University Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry and Director, Kansas NSF EPSCoRkbjames@ku.edu
Nicholas BrittPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Departments of Pharmacy Practicenbritt@ku.edu
Amy BurginPh.D.  Associate Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies & Associate Scientist, Kansas Biological Surveyburginam@ku.edu
Pauline CartwrightPh.D.  Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studiespcart@ku.edu
Josephine ChandlerPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesjrchandler@ku.edu
David CorbinPh.D.  Senior Adjunct Researcher, Center for Environmentally Beneficial CatalysisDavid.R.Corbin@ku.edu
Masoud DarabiPh.D.  Chair's Council Assistant Professor, Departments of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineeringm-darabi@ku.edu
David J. DavidoPh.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesddavido@ku.edu
Roberto De GuzmanPh.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesrdguzman@ku.edu
Prajna DharPh.D.  Professor, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineeringprajnadhar@ku.edu
Dan DixonPh.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences and Center for Computational Biologydan_dixon@ku.edu
Rick T. DobrowskyPh.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicologydobrowsky@ku.edu
Justin T. DouglasPh.D.  Director,  Biomolecular NMR Core Laboratory, Director, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Laboratory, Director, Solid State Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Laboratoryjustindouglas@ku.edu
Heng DuPh.D.  Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicologyheng.du@ku.edu
Robert DunnPh.D. Professor & Chair, Department of Chemistryrdunn@ku.edu
Apurba DuttaPh.D.  Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Medicinal Chemistryadutta@ku.edu
Susan M. EganPh.D.  Professor and Chair, Department of Molecular Biosciencessme@ku.edu
Mark P. Farrell Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistrymarkfarrell@ku.edu
Anthony FehrPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesarfehr@ku.edu
Christopher FischerPh.D.  Professor, Associate Chair and Director of Undergraduate Studies Biophysics, Department of Physics and Astronomyshark@ku.edu
M. Laird ForrestPh.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistrymforrest@ku.edu
Philip GaoPh.D.  Research Lab Director, Protein Production Core Facilitygao@ku.edu
Ryan GrigsbyDirector, COBRE CMADP Microfabrication & Microfluidics Core Facilityryan.grigsby@ku.edu
Lan GuoPh.D.  Assistant Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Centerlan.guo@ku.edu
Jennifer HackettDirector, COBRE CMADP Genome Sequencing Core Facilityjhackett@ku.edu
Michael HagemanPh.D.  Valentino J. Stella Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistrymhageman@ku.edu
Lynn HancockPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Bioscienceslynnh@ku.edu
Paul R. HansonPh.D.  Chancellors Club Teaching Professor, Department of Chemistryphanson@ku.edu
Robert HanzlikPh.D.  Professor Emeritus, Department of Medicinal Chemistryrhanzlik@ku.edu 
Meredith HartleyPh.D.  Assistant Professor Professor, Department of Chemistryhartley@ku.edu
P. Scott HeftyPh.D.  Professor and Undergraduate Studies Director, Department of Molecular Biosciencespshefty@ku.edu
Trent J. HerdaPh.D.  Associate Professor, Dept. of Health, Sport and Exercise Sciencest.herda@ku.edu
Lena HilemanPh.D.  Professor, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biologylhileman@ku.edu
Erik HolmstromPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Bioscienceserik.d.holmstrom@ku.edu
Justin HutchinsonPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineeringjhutch@ku.edu
Timothy JacksonPh.D.  Professor, Departments of Chemistrytaj@ku.edu
David JohnsonDirector, COBRE CBID Computational Chemical Biology Core Facilitydkjohnson@ku.edu
Michael JohnsonPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistryjohnsonm@ku.edu
Sangeeta JoshiPh.D.  Director, Macromolecule and Vaccine Stabilization Centerjoshi@ku.edu
John KellyPh.D.  Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studiesjkk@ku.edu
Jeffrey KrisePh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistrykrise@ku.edu
Krzysztof KuczeraPh.D.  Professor, Department of Chemistry and Molecular Bioscienceskkuczera@ku.edu
Scott LovellPh.D. Research Lab Director, Protein Structure & X-Ray Crystallography Laboratoryswlovell@ku.edu
Erik A. LundquistPh.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Bioscienceserikl@ku.edu
Susan M. LuntePh.D.  Ralph N. Adams Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Department of Chemistry; Director, Ralph N. Adams Institute for Bioanalytical Chemistryslunte@ku.edu
Stuart J. MacdonaldPh.D. Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Molecular Biosciences;sjmac@ku.edu
Helena MalinakovaPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistryhmalinakova@ku.edu
Yinglong MiaoPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences and Center for Computational Biologymiao@ku.edu
Elias K. MichaelisM.D., Ph.D. Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center; University Distinguished Emeritus Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicologyemichaelis@ku.edu
Mary L. MichaelisPh.D.  Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center; Emeritus Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicologymlm@ku.edu
Russ MiddaughPh.D.  Takeru and Aya Higuchi Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistrymiddaugh@ku.edu
Jackob MoskovitzPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicologymoskovij@ku.edu
Nancy MumaPh.D.  Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology;nmuma@ku.edu
Minae MurePh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistrymmure@ku.edu
Michael MurrayPh.D.  Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomymjmurray@ku.edu
Kristi L. NeufeldPh.D.  Professor and Research Coordinator, Department of Molecular Biosciencesklneuf@ku.edu
Karen J. NordhedenPh.D.  Associate Professor, Chemical and Petroleum Engineeringnordhed@ku.edu
Berl OakleyPh.D.  Irving S. Johnson Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology, Department of Molecular Biosciencesboakley@ku.edu
Chamani PereraPh.D.  Director, COBRE CBID and CMADP Synthetic Chemical Biology Core Facilitychamani@ku.edu
Bill PickingPh.D.  Foundation Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry; Director, Kansas Vaccine Institutepicking@ku.edu
Wendy L. PickingPh.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistrypickingw@ku.edu
Ronald RaganPh.D.  Dean-Professor, School of Pharmacyronragan@ku.edu
Roger A. RajewskiPh.D.  Research Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistryrajewski@ku.edu
Jennifer RobinsonPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineeringjlrobinson@ku.edu
Eduardo Rosa-MolinarPh.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicologyerm@ku.edu
Anuradha RoyPh.D.  Director, COBRE CBID Infectious Disease Assay Development Core Facilityanuroy@ku.edu
Shyam SathyamoorthiPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistryssathyam@ku.edu
Frank SchoenenPh.D.  Associate Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center; Medicinal Chemist, Target Acceleration Group, University of Kansas Cancer Center; Courtesy Associate Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistryschoenen@ku.edu
Christian SchöneichPh.D.  Takeru and Aya Higuchi Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistryschoneic@ku.edu
Honglian Shi Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicologyhshi@ku.edu
Mark ShiflettPh.D.  Foundation Distinguished Professor, Chemical and Petroleum Engineeringmark.b.shiflett@ku.edu
Teruna SiahaanPh.D.  Aya and Takeru Higuchi Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistrysiahaan@ku.edu
Joanna SluskyPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences/Center for Computational Biologyslusky@ku.edu
Adam SmithPh.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicologyadamsmith@ku.edu
Paulette SpencerPh.D.  Deane E. Ackers Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Engineering; Director of the Bioengineering Research Centerpspencer@ku.edu
John F. StobaughPh.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Affairs, School of Pharmacy
Interim Director and Associate Director of Academic Research, Higuchi Biosciences Center
stobaugh@ku.edu
Zsolt TalataPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Mathematicstalata@ku.edu
Ronak TilvawalaPh.D.  Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesronak.tilvawala@ku.edu
Barbara N. TimmermannPh.D.  University Distinguished Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistrybtimmer@ku.edu
Lisa TimmonsPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencestimmons@ku.edu
Thomas TolbertPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistrytolbert@ku.edu
Jon A. TungePh.D.  Professor & Associate Chair for Graduate Studies, Department of Chemistrytunge@ku.edu
Robert UncklessPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesunckless@ku.edu 
Ilya VakserPh.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciencesvakser@ku.edu
David VolkinPh.D.  Ronald T. Borchardt Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistryvolkin@ku.edu
Jingxin WangPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistrywang.jingxin@ku.edu
Michael Zhuo WangPh.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistrymichael.wang@ku.edu
Frank WeinholdPh.D.  Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practiceweinhold@ku.edu
David WeisPh.D.  Professor, Department of Chemistry; Courtesy Associate Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistrydweis@ku.edu
Mike WolfePh.D.  Professor, Departments of Medicinal Chemistrymswolfe@ku.edu
Xiaoqing WuPh.D.  Assistant Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Centerwuxq@ku.edu
Liang XuM.D., Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences; Professor, Departments of Urology and Radiation Oncology, University of Kansas Cancer Center, University of Kansas Medical Schoolxul@ku.edu
Liqin ZhaoPh.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicologylzhao@ku.edu
Cuncong ZhongPh.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences/ITTCcczhong@ku.edu