HBC October 2022 News Bulletin

National Science Foundation Awards $1.5 Million to HBC Participant

Joanna SluskyCongratulations to Joanna Slusky, associate professor of molecular biosciences, who was awarded $1.5 million by the NSF to build, using a machine-learning process, new proteins designed to detect water pollutants.  Dr. Slusky will team up on this project with Rachel Kolodny and Margarita Osadchy at the University of Haifa in Israel.  More information about this is available in the KU Today article “Deep Fake’ Protein Designed with Artificial Intelligence Will Target Water Pollutants.”

2022 Inaugural Chemical Biology Symposium

The Inaugural Chemical Biology Symposium held on October 21-22, 2022, was a great success with over 100 attendees.  We thank the keynote speaker, Dr. Naomi Ando, the invited speaker, Dr. Jimmy Ballard, and all the other presenters for sharing their time and expertise.  Congratulations to Matt Zupan who was the Lightning Talk winner and to Sahida Afroz who won a Special Award for her presentation.  Thirty-Two posters were presented during the poster session.  Congratulations to the poster winners, Erick McCloskey, Brielle McKee, Naviya Schuster-Little, Blanca Rodriguez, and Aprajita Tripathi.  Abstracts from oral and poster presentations are available for viewing on the 2022 Inaugural Chemical Biology Symposium web page.

KU Chemical Biology Symposium Awardees

Awardees (from left to right) Erick McCloskey, Naviya Schuster-Little, Matt Zupan, Blanca Rodriguez, Brielle McKee, and Aprajita Tripathi with Dr. Brian Ackley.

2023 KINBRE Symposium

The 21st Annual K-INBRE Symposium will be held at the Overland Park Sheraton on January 14 -15, 2023.  The registration deadline is December 1, 2022, and there is a registration fee of $25 if you are not a K-INBRE affiliate.  Undergraduate students can compete in the oral presentation competition if they wish to be considered for a 10-minute presentation during the symposium.  All undergraduate student presenters who submit an abstract not selected as an oral presentation, will be eligible for the poster competition.  All abstracts are due on December 1, 2022.  More information can be found on the KINBRE Symposium website.

NSF Fall Virtual Conference

The NSF will hold its Fall 2022 NSF Virtual Grants Conference from Monday, November 14, to Thursday, November 17, 2022.  They will be using Zoom to host this year’s virtual conferences.  Registration is currently open and you will need to register for each session you wish to attend.  All recorded sessions will be available shortly after the event and posted on the NSF website and YouTube page.

NIH Updates

  • The NIH will be implementing its policy for Data Management and Sharing (DMS) on January 25, 2023.  For materials and resources on the implementation of the DMS Policy, see the NIH Scientific Data Sharing website
  • The NIH will hold an International Collaborations: Policies, Processes, & Partnerships webinar on November 9.  Registration is free and is included in the personal “All Access Pass” to the virtual NIH Grants Conference 2022-2023 season.  If you missed one of the conference monthly webinars, the recordings are available on the Virtual NIH Grants Conference & PreCon Events website. 
  • NIH announced over the summer that it will require the use of updated application forms (FORMS-H) for proposal submission due dates on or after January 25, 2023. On October 25, the NIH added FORMS-H instructions to the How to Apply – Application Guide to help prepare for the transition.

Recent Awards

Yoshiaki Azuma, Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences, was awarded $10,000 by the University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute for his project entitled: “Specific Chromatin Interaction of DNA Topoisomerase II Isoforms and its Role on Regulation of their Cellular Function.”

Michael Johnson, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, was awarded $35,000 by the University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute for his project entitled: “Sub-cellular Neurotransmitter Population Dynamics in Chemobrain.”

Eduardo Rosa-Molinar, Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology, was awarded $10,000 by the University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute for his project entitled: “Neuroglial Tumor Synapse Revisited.”

Shyam Sathyamoorthi, Assistant Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, was awarded a $66,075 supplement by the National Institutes of Health for his project entitled: “Tethered aza-Wacker Technology for Complex Antibiotic Assembly.”

Kristi Neufeld, , Frank B. Tyler Professor of Cancer Research, Department of Molecular Biosciences, was awarded $1,104,185 by National Institutes of Health for her project entitled: “Roles for Adenomatous Polyposis Coli in Colon Injury Prevention and Wound Healing.”