• Home
  • Research
  • Participants

List of HBC Investigators

Name
Designation
Contact Info
Brian D. Ackley » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences bdackley@ku.edu 
Ryan Altman » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry raaltman@ku.edu 
Kenneth Audus » Ph.D.  Dean, School of Pharmacy, Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry,
Courtesy Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology,
Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology (University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, Kansas)
audus@ku.edu 
Mizuki Azuma » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences azumam@ku.edu 
Yoshiaki Azuma » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences azumay@ku.edu 
Michael Barta Ph.D.  Assistant Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center barta.michael@ku.edu 
Cory Berkland » Ph.D.  Solon E. Summerfield Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical & Petroleum Engineering and Pharmaceutical Chemistry berkland@ku.edu 
Brian S. J. Blagg » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry bblagg@ku.edu 
Justin P. Blumenstiel » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology jblumens@ku.edu 
Kristin Bowman-James » Ph.D.  University Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry and Director, Kansas NSF EPSCoR kbjames@ku.edu 
Josephine Chandler » Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences jrchandler@ku.edu 
David J. Davido » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences ddavido@ku.edu 
Eric Deeds » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences and Center for Computational Biology deeds@ku.edu 
Brandon DeKosky » Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department Pharmaceutical Chemistry dekosky@ku.edu 
Roberto De Guzman » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences rdguzman@ku.edu 
Prajna Dhar » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering prajnadhar@ku.edu 
Rick T. Dobrowsky » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology dobrowsky@ku.edu 
Justin T. Douglas  Ph.D.  Director, COBRE PSF Biomolecular NMR Core Laboratory, Director, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Laboratory, Director, Solid State Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Laboratory justindouglas@ku.edu 
Apurba Dutta » Ph.D.  Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Medicinal Chemistry adutta@ku.edu 
Susan M. Egan » Ph.D.  Professor and Chair, Department of Molecular Biosciences sme@ku.edu 
Christopher Fischer » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Associate Chair and Director of Undergraduate Studies Biophysics, Department of Physics and Astronomy shark@ku.edu 
M. Laird Forrest » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry mforrest@ku.edu 
T. Christopher Gamblin » Ph.D.  Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Molecular Biosciences gamblin@ku.edu 
Philip Gao Ph.D.  Research Lab Director, COBRE PSF Protein Production Core Facility gao@ku.edu 
Estela A. Gavosto » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics gavosto@ku.edu 
Ryan Grigsby Ph.D.  Director, COBRE CMADP Microfabrication & Microfluidics Core Facility ryan.grigsby@ku.edu 
Jennifer Hackett Ph.D.  Director, COBRE CMADP Genome Sequencing Core Facility jhackett@ku.edu 
Lynn Hancock » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences lynnh@ku.edu 
Paul R. Hanson » Ph.D.  Chancellors Club Teaching Professor, Department of Chemistry phanson@ku.edu 
Robert P. Hanzlik » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry rhanzlik@ku.edu 
P. Scott Hefty » Ph.D.  Professor and Undergraduate Studies Director, Department of Molecular Biosciences pshefty@ku.edu 
Carey Johnson » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Chemistry ckjohnson@ku.edu 
David Johnson Ph.D.  Interim Director, COBRE CBID Computational Chemical Biology Core Facility dkjohnson@ku.edu 
Michael Johnson » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry johnsonm@ku.edu 
Jeffrey Krise » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry krise@ku.edu 
Krzysztof Kuczera » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Chemistry kkuczera@ku.edu 
Audrey L. Lamb » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences lamb@ku.edu 
Scott Lovell Ph.D. Research Lab Director,COBRE PSF Protein Structure Core Laboratory swlovell@ku.edu 
Erik A. Lundquist » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences erikl@ku.edu 
Susan M. Lunte » Ph.D.  Ralph N. Adams Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Department of Chemistry; Director, Ralph N. Adams Institute for Bioanalytical Chemistry slunte@ku.edu 
Stuart J. Macdonald » Ph.D.  Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Molecular Biosciences; sjmac@ku.edu 
Helena Malinakova » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry hmalinakova@ku.edu 
Francisco Martinez Becerra Ph.D.  Assistant Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center; Director, Immunology Core Laboratory francisco.martinez@ku.edu 
Elias K. Michaelis » M.D., Ph.D. Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center; University Distinguished Emeritus Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology emichaelis@ku.edu 
Mary L. Michaelis » Ph.D.  Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center; Emeritus Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology mlm@ku.edu 
Russ Middaugh » Ph.D.  Takeru and Aya Higuchi Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry middaugh@ku.edu 
Alexander Moise » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology alexmoise@ku.edu 
Jackob Moskovitz » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology moskovij@ku.edu 
Nancy Muma » Ph.D.  Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology; nmuma@ku.edu 
Minae Mure » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry mmure@ku.edu 
Kristi L. Neufeld » Ph.D.  Professor and Research Coordinator, Department of Molecular Biosciences klneuf@ku.edu 
Karen J. Nordheden » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering nordhed@ku.edu 
Berl Oakley » Ph.D.  Irving S. Johnson Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology, Department of Molecular Biosciences boakley@ku.edu 
James Orr » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences; Director, Office for Diversity in Science Training jorr@ku.edu 
Arghya Paul  » Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering arghyapaul@ku.edu 
Chamani Perera Ph.D.  Director, COBRE CBID and CMADP Synthetic Chemical Biology Core Facility chamani@ku.edu 
Blake R. Peterson » Ph.D.  Regents Distinguished Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry brpeters@ku.edu 
Bill Picking » Ph.D.  Foundation Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry; Director, Higuchi Biosciences Center; Director, Kansas Vaccine Institute picking@ku.edu 
Wendy L. Picking » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry pickingw@ku.edu 
Thomas Prisinzano » Ph.D.  Professor and Chair, Department of Medicinal Chemistry prisinza@ku.edu 
Roger A. Rajewski » Ph.D.  Research Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry rajewski@ku.edu 
J. Christian J. Ray » Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences and Center for Computational Biology jjray@ku.edu 
Shenqiang Ren » Ph.D.  Research Professor, Department of Chemistry shenqiang@ku.edu 
Mark L. Richter » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences richter@ku.edu 
Mario Rivera » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Chemistry mrivera@ku.edu 
Anuradha Roy Ph.D.  Director, COBRE CBID Infectious Disease Assay Development Core Facility anuroy@ku.edu 
Christian Schöneich » Ph.D.  Takeru and Aya Higuchi Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry schoneic@ku.edu 
Frank Schoenen Ph.D.  Associate Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center; Medicinal Chemist, Target Acceleration Group, University of Kansas Cancer Center; Courtesy Associate Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry schoenen@ku.edu 
Honglian Shi » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology hshi@ku.edu 
Teruna Siahaan » Ph.D.  Aya and Takeru Higuchi Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry siahaan@ku.edu 
Joanna Slusky » Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences/Center for Computational Biology slusky@ku.edu 
Paulette Spencer » Ph.D.  Deane E. Ackers Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Engineering; Director of the Bioengineering Research Center pspencer@ku.edu 
Jeffrey L. Staudinger » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology stauding@ku.edu 
John F. Stobaugh » Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Affairs, School of Pharmacy
Associate Director of Academic Research, Higuchi Biosciences Center
stobaugh@ku.edu 
Barbara N. Timmermann » Ph.D.  University Distinguished Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry btimmer@ku.edu 
Lisa Timmons » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences timmons@ku.edu 
Thomas Tolbert » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry tolbert@ku.edu 
Jon A. Tunge » Ph.D.  Professor & Associate Chair for Graduate Studies, Department of Chemistry tunge@ku.edu 
David Volkin » Ph.D.  Ronald T. Borchardt Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry volkin@ku.edu 
Michael Zhuo Wang » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry michael.wang@ku.edu  
James Walters  » Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology jrwalters@ku.edu  
Robert Ward » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences robward@ku.edu  
David Weis » Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry; Courtesy Associate Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistry dweis@ku.edu  
Todd Williams » Ph.D.  Director, Mass Spectrometry Laboratory & Analytical Proteomics Laboratory twilliams@ku.edu  
Xiaoqing Wu Ph.D.  Assistant Research Professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center wuxq@ku.edu 
Liang Xu » M.D., Ph.D.  Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences; Professor, Departments of Urology and Radiation Oncology, University of Kansas Cancer Center, University of Kansas Medical School xul@ku.edu 
Shirley ShiDu Yan » M.D., Ph.D.  Howard Mossberg Distinguished Professor of Pharmacogenics, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology s067y548@ku.edu 
Yong Zeng » Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry yongz@ku.edu 
Liqin Zhao » Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology lzhao@ku.edu 

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today