HBC November-December 2019 News Bulletin

Thursday, December 12, 2019


Great Plains Regional Annual Symposium on Protein and Biomolecular NMR(GRASP NMR)

More than 50 people from twelve states (Arkansas, California, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and Texas) attended the twelfth GRASP NMR 2019 symposium, held on November 22 - 23, 2019, to discuss macromolecular NMR applications and techniques.  Graduate students gave several of the oral presentations and we would like to congratulate Trang Nguyen who received the Best Student Talk Award.  She is a graduate student in the Department of Chemistry at Iowa State University and is mentored by assistant professor Vincenzo Venditti.

Twenty-one posters were presented during the GRASP poster session. Congratulations to this year’s Best Poster Award winners, Lynn Schrag, mentored by professor Om Prakash, of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics at Kansas State University, and Megan N. Westwood, mentored by professor Gary Meints, of the Department of Chemistry at Missouri State University. 

Abstracts from oral and poster presentations, as well as pictures of the event, are available for viewing on the GRASP NMR Symposium  web page.

Award Winners

Award Winners (from left to right):  Megan N. Westwood (Best Poster Presentation Award), Lynn Schrag (Best Poster Presentation Award) and Trang Nguyen (Best Student Talk Award)


Upcoming Proteomics Workshops

Several proteomics workshops will be offered by the IDeA National Resource for Proteomics in the next few months. 

  • The 2020 Workshop for Faculty and Students will be held February 11-12, 2020, and March 24-25, 2020, in Oklahoma City, OK and February 27-28, 2020, in Little Rock, AR. The workshop is for faculty and students performing and/or interested in proteomics research.


NIH Updates

  • Please note that the NIH will update their grant application instructions and forms (FORMS– F) next spring.  Grant applications due on or after May 25, 2020, will have to use the new forms.  More information to come.
  • The Spring NIH Regional Seminar will be in Baltimore, MD, April 20-22, 2020.  To take advantage of early registration rates, register by December 31, 2019.


Holiday Closures

The HBC will close at 1 pm on Christmas Eve, and will be closed all day on Christmas Day and New Year’s Day.  In addition, for the period of December 23 to January 3, the HBC administration will open only from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.  The HBC stockroom and HBC Complex buildings’ exterior doors will be unlocked from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.   If you are meeting with someone outside of these times, please make sure the individual with whom you are meeting knows you are coming so that he/she may let you in.   Also, please note that although the HBC will be open during the days preceding the closure dates, some of the staff will be taking vacation time to visit with their families.  If you need to meet with a staff member or have proposals to submit mid-December or mid-January, please make sure to contact us ahead of time and submit your proposal files early enough to avoid a rush situation. 


Happy Holidays!!

This is the last HBC News Bulletin to be published this calendar year.  Therefore, HBC staff would like to take this opportunity to wish everyone a safe and Happy Holiday Season!!!

Grant Submission Deadlines

April 8, 2021
NIH standard deadline for Individual National Research Service Awards (including F31 Diversity) – new renewal, resubmission.

April 12, 2021
NIH standard deadline for Conference Grants and Conference Cooperative Agreements (R13 and U13) – renewal, resubmission, revision. 

April 26, 2021
EPSCoR RII Track-4: EPSCoR Research Fellows (RII Track-4) N   21-557.

May 17, 2021
NIH deadline for the Maximizing Investigators' Research Award (R35) 19-367.

Recent Awards

Zarko Boskovic, Assistant Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, was awarded $7,500 by the University of New Mexico for his project entitled “Benzoylation of proteins with synthetic compounds and its prevention with polyamines.”  He was also awarded $25,000 by the University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute for his project entitled “Benzoylation of histones as a novel therapeutic approach for the treatment of multiple myeloma.”

Brandon DeKosky, Assistant Professor, Departments of Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, was awarded $25,000 by the University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute for his project entitled “Improved T Cell Receptor Screening for Rapid Personalized Cancer Treatments.”

Laird Forrest, Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, was awarded $416,625 by the National Institutes of Health for his project entitled “Mitochondria targeting for Alzheimer’s Disease.”

Berl Oakley, Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology, Department of Molecular Biosciences, was awarded $437,201 by the National Institutes of Health for his project entitled “Resistance-gene-guided genome mining for novel antifungal compounds.”

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today